Break Time (again…)

Five days seemed to be the limit for my latest Whole30 trend. Everything was going well, but Friday evening that all changed in the blink of an eye. My husband and I were in the grocery buying the food for a party we were hosting the next day, and out of the blue he tells me that he will start the Whole30 over on Sunday because he wants to be able to eat and drink at our party. I quickly succumbed to peer pressure, but at the same time, didn’t want to let my friends (who were also doing the Whole30) down.

I frantically texted her, but didn’t get a response, and there was a sample of beer I haven’t tried and the possibility of boiled crawfish for dinner (I had already asked and was quite bummed to find out that the grocery store ones use “Louisiana” brand seasoning, which has MSG in it). I texted her husband and a few minutes later, we were all in agreement. I was the recipient and instigator of peer pressure… Pretty sad.

Well, starting Sunday became Wednesday, since why follow “rules” on my birthday? I mean, it was one thing when it would have been Day 8, but Day 3? That’s silly…. and then the more I think about it, I want to be able to sample local craft beers on my three-week business trip… So, I might as well wait until mid-May to do it full out. Then, I’ll be getting ready for swimsuit season, so I should be highly motivated!! Right??

I hope no one out there is following me to learn willpower, because I think I’m more of a “how-not-to” than a role model!!

So, there you have it, those are my excuses/reasons/or whatever you want to call it.

You’d think I would rethink my logic in light of my crappy sleep last night. I was hanging in there with sleep numbers of 82, 81, and 78…. and then last night, I got a whooping 52!

How do you get a 52, you might ask? Well, start with a total sleep time of 4:32, which is almost as long as my total wake time of 4:25. The, had 0:20 of deep sleep, 0:44 minutes of REM, and count them…. 10 disruptions – an all-time record!! The problem was this trigger point in my right hip was absolutely killing me. I didn’t take sleep aid to go to sleep, as I had hoped I didn’t need it anymore (didn’t take it the two previous nights either), but I ended up taking medication in the middle of the night, as I was desperate to fall asleep.

Oh, by the way, my Jawbone UP4 died a painful death on Friday night, when it finished splitting in 2. I’m glad I had one night for comparison, and I will miss it, but my left wrist is enjoying its freedom from wearing a band!!

Except my posts to be less perfect in the next couple of weeks, but I will still strive to make decent food choices. I don’t expect to carbo-load, worship the fast-food gods, or anything terrible like that, but it can be a slippery slope, so I will be careful to not say “never”.

Leave a Reply

